Ever wonder what school was like in Southern California 125 years ago? Families can find out by touring the restored San Timoteo Canyon Schoolhouse, which was built 10 years before Riverside County was created from parts of San Bernardino and San Diego counties.
The schoolhouse is a nationally-registered historic site, extensively renovated over the last decade and reopened in 2011. It is located in picturesque San Timoteo Canyon, between Beaumont and Redlands.
The building was completed 1883 and used as a school until 1937. Restoration included new plaster, woodwork, doors, and windows to bring the schoolhouse back to the way it originally looked.
The schoolhouse is only open to the public on the first and third Saturdays each month. It's open Saturday, Sept. 21, and then again Saturday, Oct. 5.
Hours are 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Admission is $3 for adults and $2 for children up to 12 years of age.